College Boys and Their Mishap

April 24, 2012 § Leave a comment

FADE IN:

INT. THE COFFEE BEAN & TEA LEAF – AFTERNOON

ALLEN and JAY are sitting in the middle row and next to the window. There are two coffees and working materials on the table. There are two workers chatting at the counter. There are four tables: one occupied by ALLEN and JAY and the other by a blonde, haired woman who is working on her laptop.

ALLEN

So, you thinking about quitting school?

JAY

I don’t know yet. Let’s just say right now school is not my thing right now.

ALLEN

So, what is your thing?

JAY

I don’t know man. I have so many ideas. Like I was with one of my friends last semester and we were in this acting thing for theater. I contributed in the writing and got to see what they were doing. They said if I continue to be interested, I can participate in the screenwriting process or even some directing. So, I find acting really cool and I am thinking about that.

ALLEN

(astonishing)

Oh, wow! That sounds good. Why not major in theater? Maybe you gonna be a star someday.

JAY

(laughs hysterically)

Naw. Maybe. Who knows.

ALLEN

(looks confusing)

What’s stopping you then?

JAY

Well, I am currently an Econ major, so it doesn’t really go with theater.

A person can be seen outside walking pass the coffee shop.

ALLEN

(crosses his legs)

You still have time to change your major. It’s not too late yet.

JAY

Naw. Theater does not make enough money. Besides, I like Economics. It’s very interesting. It really gets me thinking.

ALLEN

Double major then. Those majors actually blend in. With an Economics degree, perhaps you can finance your money to become a successful actor. See, it all works out.

JAY

(laughs)

Oh, yeah! That so true. Hmmmm…let me think about it. It’s not a bad idea. I never thought of it that way. But still, I kinda don’t want to go to school.

ALLEN

(straight face)

Why?

Two young women walk into the store. One of the worker takes their orders why the other start to make the coffee.

JAY

(drinks coffee)

My parents pay for my tuition. They said they are going to stop paying for school starting this semester and I have to get the money for school somehow. They believe a college degree gives nothing back in return and it is just pouring money down the drain. My parents came here from Malaysia and worked really hard to start their own bakery business.

The worker who took the order assists the other worker with making the coffee. The two women chat as they wait.

JAY (CONT’D)

They both have no college education and been raising my sister and I with that bakery. So, that’s why they think that college isn’t really worth investing and it’s true though. People are pouring their money into college but when they get out, they don’t get what they want in return and they are stuck with a huge debt.

ALLEN

Well, it depends. But I see your point.

JAY

Yeah. I have been working at the bakery since I can remember. I feel like I want to open up my own bakery and start my own business.

ALLEN

Sounds like a plan. So does that mean you have already decided what you want?

JAY looks down to his coffee cup and plays with ti. He looks depressing.

JAY

I don’t know yet. I am still thinking about it.

ALLEN

Well, to me, I think you are not thinking this thoroughly.

JAY looks back at ALLEN. The two women get their coffee and exit the coffee shop.

ALLEN (CONT’D)

You don’t have to drop out of college. Remember, once you are in college, try to stay there. So why don’t you try this? Take a semester off. Think about what you want to do and then come back and tell the dean or whoever what you have decided. That way, if you decide to come back, you can just come back. But then if you drop out and change your mind, then you will have to start all over again. But if one semester is not enough for you, request a year off. By then, you should be able to figure out what you want to do with your life. So don’t just drop out.

JAY

(puts right hand on chin and rubs and thinks)

Hmmm…I never thought of that. Maybe I should do that.

ALLEN

(surprising)

Wow! Are you serious? Well, yeah, you can do that.

JAY places both of his hands on the table.

JAY

I’ll think about it.

As the blonde, haired woman gets up with her belongings and walks pass by ALLEN and JAY’s table, JAY moves his coffee towards the window. ALLEN moves his left leg inside the table. She leaves the coffee shop.

JAY (CONT’D)

How are you and Mable?

ALLEN

Good and the bad. Other than that, we doing pretty good except when she annoys the crap out of me.

JAY

(laughs loud)

That’s good. I haven’t really seen her for a while. I haven’t really seen anyone for a while. I mean the people that we know.

ALLEN

(smiles)

You know, if we didn’t room together this year, I thought you died or something happened. Or it could also be you want to be left alone. No offense. You sort of just disappeared.

JAY

(edgy and defensive)
What! No way! Are you serious? That is not even funny. Wow! What the hell! Who’s been saying that?

ALLEN

(smiles)

No. I am saying that to you. Others just say you disappeared.

JAY

(slightly agitates)

Ohhh! Naw, I just wanted to do my own thing. I can’t if I am around people. But, dang! I can’t believe people think of me that way. Now I want to know who has been saying that.

ALLEN

(laughs)

Well, that’s what happens when you just vanish without saying anything.

ALLEN

(drinks coffee)

Well, whatever you think of let me know since if you decide to go home, I have to look for another person to room with. Unless you want to pay the rent.

JAY

Oh yeah! Of course. I’ll let you know ahead of time. Hey, man! I’m gonna head out. You gonna stay?

ALLEN

I have to finish my work. You can head out.

JAY

Alright then. I’ll head out then. Later man!

ALLEN and JAY do their farewell handshake. JAY walks out and ALLEN grabs his cell phone from his left pocket. He dials and calls. Someone picks up on the other line.

SOMEONE (V.O.)

Hello?

ALLEN

(sighs)

Hello. Guess what happened?

FADE OUT.

THE END

This work was created by ogletterhead. Please be courtesy to not steal or use content without crediting writer. 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading College Boys and Their Mishap at OGLETTERHEAD - House of Screenplay.

meta

